Grant Aid and Product Approvals

Grant Aid 

The left hand menu on this page lists some of the current grant aid schemes. The latest innovation is the Renewable Heat Incentive. This requires the appliance and the installation to be Microgeneration Scheme accredited (MCS).

The Renewable Heat Incentive (RHI) is a Government funded scheme to encourage the take up of renewable technologies, basically the government pays you to heat your home.  

Product Approvals

All Euroheat products have been carefully tested to meet the required standards set by government. Depending on the product type and/or installation requirements you can be assured Euroheat products meet and far exceed the standards set.

HETAS Approval

HETAS is the independent UK body recognised by DEFRA for the official testing and approval of domestic solid fuels, solid fuel and wood burning appliances and associated equipment and services. 

HETAS is approved by DCLG (by Statutory Instrument) to run a Competent Persons self-certification scheme for installers of wood, biomass and solid fuel appliances/systems.

Smoke Control Areas

The “Clean Air Act 1993” which provides the current rules governing the emissions of smoke. The Act allows a local authority to declare districts to be a smoke control area with the power to impose fines of  £1,000 on domestic properties emitting smoke. Burning fuels not authorized as being “smokeless” in an appliance that was not permitted to burn unauthorized fuels is not allowed. Appliances with a proven capability for burning unauthorized fuels without producing smoke are classified as being an “exempt appliance”.

Energy Technology List

The ETL comprises two lists: the Energy Technology Criteria List (ETCL) and the Energy Technology Product List (ETPL). The ETCL defines the performance criteria that equipment must meet to qualify for ECA scheme support; the ETPL is a qualified list of products that have been assessed as being compliant with ETCL criteria.

Microgeneration Scheme

The Microgeneration Certification Scheme (MCS) is an independent scheme that certifies microgeneration products and installers in accordance with consistent standards. It is designed to evaluate microgeneration products and installers against robust criteria providing greater protection for consumers.

CE Tested

The CE mark is something every wood burning stove should have. From July 2013, it became legally required for all multi fuel and wood burning stoves. 

Domestic RHI

Commercial RHI


Smoke Exempt Areas

Energy technology lits

Micro certification scheme